Friday, February 29, 2008

state laws limit acces to affordable short term insurance

Many people are surprised to learn that some states have laws that restrict citizens access to affordable short term medical insurance. Ten states have laws that restrict the use of short term medical insurance and four states (New York, New Jersey, and Vermont) do not allow short term medical insurance at all.

California, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, New Hampshire, and North Dakota all have laws that require a person to go without coverage for a period of time ranging from one day to six months before they are eligible for a subsequent policy. The intent was to push people into more expensive renewable coverage, but this option is neither appropriate nor available to everyone.

See more detail on the restrictions at

We support the right of all people, regardless of their state of residence, to have the freedom to choose the insurance they think best suits their individual needs.

No comments: